Leave a comment

New month, new goals

“The best laid schemes o’ Mice an’ Men, Gang aft agley”- Robert Burns

Those words certainly proved true for me in November. I began the month with an ambitious goal. I planned to dust off the WIP manuscript of my second novel, Sixth South, finish writing it and get it in decent enough shape by the end of the month that I could start subbing it to my critique group for their invaluable feedback.

Since November is National Novel Writing Month, I figured I’d use that as the motivation and be a Nano rebel, finishing my WIP in 30 days.

It didn’t quite work out that way.

My day job hit a particularly busy and stressful time mid month, and then family came to visit for the Thanksgiving holiday, and then I came down with a bad cold that became a sinus infection.  As a result, the last two weeks of November ended up being a lost cause for writing.

I am in awe of those that completed Nano this year- writing 50k words in 30 days. I only managed about 9k of new words before everything fell apart on me. If I view it just in terms of numbers, then I definitely did not succeed.

Still, the month was not a total loss. I did resume working on Sixth South, and now I have a renewed excitement for the story. It needs a lot of work, yes, but I think it has a lot of potential, too, and I am more motivated than ever to complete it.

Now that things are settling down and I’m feeling better, it’s time to get back to work. December is a new moth and a time for new goals. Or in this case, an old goal. I’m going to finish the first draft and get it ready to sub for critiques.

I hope December goes better than November.

Leave a Reply

