2 Comments

Preparing For a Writer’s Conference

Seventeen days from now, I will be heading to Dallas, TX for the DFW Writer’s Conference. It will be my first conference, and I am extremely excited about. I’m also getting nervous as embark on all of the preparations to get ready for the trip.

What needs to be done?

I finished my MS over the weekend, undoubtedly the most important thing. I do wish I finished it sooner to allow more time for revisions before I go. In an ideal world, it would be more polished than this. However, I learned a long time ago that it’s not an ideal world, and all we can do is the best we can. There simply isn’t going to be time for a comprehensive revision, so I am going to concentrate on a proofread of every chapter to try to eliminate typos and missing or repeated words, and try to polish the first three chapters as much as possible.

I decided to give myself a few days’ break from the MS, though, in order to recharge. I think it’s helping. During my Zumba class this evening (a great way to unwind and rejuvenate the body and mind!) I had a few ideas for how to amp up the tension in my first chapter, something I know is needed. I hope to get back to work tomorrow.

So what did I do today to prepare for the conference? I ordered business cards! It may not sound like much, but it helps me feel official.

Probably the single most important to do now that the MS is completed is prepare my pitch. I debated a little about whether to pitch, since it is my conference. At first I thought maybe I should just go to listen and learn and meet people. Ultimately, I decided I did not want to pass up the opportunity to meet one on one with a top agent to discuss my project. I know I will be pitching, I am just not sure to which agent yet. I hope to have that information this week.

I also need to write my synopsis. Fortunately, I think preparing the pitch will be a big help with this.

Last but not least, a trip to the salon is on the agenda, and of course I need to decide what to wear and what shoes to pack!

It’s going to be a great trip.

2 comments on “Preparing For a Writer’s Conference

  1. Sounds like you are almost ready. Happy to hear you got a pitch spot! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. Congratulations on your first writers’ conference! I went to my first this past year and loved it, although, unlike you, I didn’t have my MS ready to pitch. This year I return prepared. It’s a great opportunity for learning and meeting fellow writers and agents. Hope you’ll have a wonderful time… and good luck!

Leave a Reply

