2 Comments

The Love of Reading

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”– Charles W. Eliot

I have always loved to read. It’s a passion that my mother instilled in me from an early age. I read voraciously as a child, and I still do today.

Reading has always been a passion in my family. I have memories of taking family trips to bookstores- my parents and my brother and I. We’d split up in different directions, each heading towards a subject or area that interested us. When we met up again, usually we all found a book we wanted.

A lot of those bookstores are gone now, a fact which saddens me. We’ve become a family of eReaders now. The love of readings is the same, though. Our passion for books hasn’t faded. We simply read them a different way now.

For many years now, my mother and I have read the same type of books. We have a group of favorite authors that we always read, and also love to discover new authors.

We live about 900 miles apart now so we only see each other a handful of times a year. When we do, we always swap books. I give her the ones I have bought over the past few months and she gives me the ones she’s bought. Now we swap them on our e-readers. When we talk on the phone each week, part of the conversation is always about what we’re reading, which authors have new books out, or a good deal we found on an eBook.

This shared love of reading and love of books is something that bonds us. It’s not the only thing, but it is a significant one.

I  think it is invaluable for writers to always be readers as well. I read to see how stories are structured, how characters are developed, how other writers portray relationships, tension, conflict, how they write dialogue, how they describe scenes. I take it all in, and I learn something from everything I read.

It makes me a better writer, and I am so grateful to my mother for igniting my passion for reading at an early age.

 

2 comments on “The Love of Reading

  1. My mom and I do the same. I love it when I see others that have the same experience. I think the love to read is one of the greatest gifts one can receive.

  2. Ah, the bookstore was the gathering place at the mall. Our family knew to meet there. This was before cell phones. I always knew where to find my mom at the end of the shopping day, and I always knew they’d buy me something from the bookstore. I thank my parents for instilling in me a curiosity and love for reading.

Leave a Reply

