9 Comments

Interview with Author A.D. Trosper

This week, author A.D. Trosper stops by to discuss her book, Embers at Galdrilene, recently voted Turning Pages’ Fantasy Book of the Year. Embers at Galdrilene is book one in the Dragon’s Call series.

Embers Front-Cover-12EBOOK

“A ray of light, a stain of shadow, shall endure to breathe life and death into the future” 

The war between the Guardians and the Shadow Riders ended in total devastation. The final battle killed all the dragons and left nothing but fields of ash. A small clutch of dragon eggs was all that remained to provide hope for the future.

Five hundred years later, the ability to use magic is a death sentence and dragons are remembered as a curse. But the unhatched dragons sing for their riders…and soon six lives will be changed forever.

The elements of magic are drawn together as the dragons’ call leads them on an epic and dangerous journey of discovery. They soon learn everything they’ve been taught to believe about magic and dragons is wrong.

With the last of the dragons and the world at stake, they will risk everything to heed the call.

But an evil from the past soon threatens their discovery and new found joy. Shadow Dragons ride the dawn once more…

 

What is your writing process? Do you follow a regular routine?

Let me start by saying that I have three children, two dogs, chickens, goats, and in the summer I have gardens. So life is busy and hectic at times. I try to write a little bit every night. Sometimes this happens like I plan and other times Murphy’s Law is in full effect. As far as my process, I am a huge music listener and my collection is extremely eclectic. I put my head phones on, turn on whichever song fits my mood and what I’m writing and go to it. The words in the song don’t always match, but the pace and the tune does. And I am perfectly capable of singing along with the song while I type my story and often do.

How did you come up with the title of this book?

The title of this book (and the others of this series that I am working on) all reflect something that happens in this book. For Embers at Galdrilene, it is a reference to a foreseeing in the prologue.

Are the events in your book or your characters based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. Each of my characters showed up with their name known to them and full of their own personalities. And the events are purely fantasy.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Absolutely not. I could not be any happier with the way it came out in the end. I guess if I could change anything at all, I would go back and have it professionally edited before I ever released it instead of months later. Lesson learned.

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

Yes, with Embers I suffered a two month long block. I ignored my characters and thought I would do things my way instead of the way they wanted. In the process I skipped a big scene they really wanted and insisted was very important. I ended up with them at an inn, eating dinner and then could go no further. I was really starting to worry that they would be too fat to get back on their horses after two months of eating dinner.

Finally I listened to them. I cut two characters and five chapters out of the book and took it all the way back to the spot where they had wanted that important scene. Things took off after that.
Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Tears of War, the second book in my Dragon’s Call series, is my current work. The prologue picks up three weeks after the end of Embers at Galdrilene and then the story picks up a year after that.

What book(s) / author(s) have influenced your life and writing? Why?

Robert Jordan and Anne McCaffrey. Robert Jordan for his ability to create a vast world and story that is truly epic. I know many could not follow his Wheel of Time series all the way through and often wondered at why he kept wandering off onto side characters and such. But as you reach the end, you start seeing it all come together. There is so much in that series; I can only imagine what it must have been like to keep it all straight in his head. Brandon Sanderson gets some kudos here too for picking up the banner and marching forward with the story after Jordan’s death.

Anne McCaffrey because she was the first who introduced me to dragons and humans working together.

I think it is terribly sad and unfair that two of the three authors I would most like to meet have passed on. Brandon Sanderson had better stay healthy for a long time because one of these days I would like to meet him.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Well, as you may have guessed from the first question, I have a lot going on when I’m not writing. Obviously I love to read. I also love to take pictures of nature. Sometimes they come out great and sometimes they come out laughable, but I enjoy it either way. I also adore goats and love my dairy goats. I had to let them go this past summer, but thankfully they are coming home in March, so I don’t have much longer to wait to have them back in my life.

What does your family think of your writing?

My family is extremely supportive of my writing. My husband’s encouragement is the reason I started writing and kept at it. He is a wonderful man and I am so thankful he puts up with me. My mother reads every version of my stories, every rewrite and is very good about honest feedback and letting me know where I have wandered astray in the story. My father is very encouraging and even beta read Embers at Galdrilene though fantasy is not a genre he likes to read. It was because of him that the battle at the end of Embers became so big. His assessment of the first version was that it was kind of flat. I took a look at it again and realized he was right. Not only was it flat, but it happened in the wrong place.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Thank you for loving Embers even through its growing pains as I stumbled through learning what really needed to be done to bring a finished book to publication. I am humbled by your praise and I hope Tears of War brings you as much joy as Embers at Galdrilene has.

Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your books!

Buy Embers from these retailers:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Embers-Galdrilene-Dragons-Call-ebook/dp/B0080R4LPK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1336343993&sr=8-1

Nook:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/embers-at-galdrilene-ad-trosper/1110763438?ean=2940014415484

Kobo:  http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Embers-at-Galdrilene/book-SZhy9KVntUyjNrkILB3m1A/page1.html?s=NHG8PxGRXkq_n7j8Ugt-TA&r=1

View the book trailer:

author pic

Author bio: Here is where I’m supposed to talk about myself in third person for whatever reason. But, even though there are a lot of people in my head, referring to myself in third person still sounds too strange.

Born in Kansas, I spent a lot of my childhood moving around. I’ve lived in Kansas, Oklahoma, Washington State (around Seattle), and southern California. I had many great adventures growing up. I’m now settled down in Kansas with my wonderful husband, three children, my wonderful dog Katie, assorted cats, and small flock of chickens.

I’ve been an avid lover of fantasy since I was young child. Dragons, elves, fairies, dwarves, and other denizens of the fantasy world as well as magic have always fascinated me. As I grew up, I developed an interest in vampires, zombies and my interests branched out to take in paranormal and urban fantasy.

I don’t have any special writing credits to my name other than a wildly active imagination and the ability to form that imagination into written stories.

 
 
9 comments on “Interview with Author A.D. Trosper

  1. Thank you for having me. 🙂

  2. Nice! I loved the book and am waiting for the next one from A.D.Trosper

  3. So excited to read this book! Great interview!

  4. I am in the market for a good new read, I am just finishing up Coming To Rosemont by Barbara Hinske, excellent read! I recommend it, barbarahinske.com if anyone wants to sheck it out. I am more into realistic Women’s Fiction, but just by reading this review I might have to step out of my zone and try Trosper’s book! Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

