1 Comment

Interview with author Chelsea Falin

This week, author Chelsea Falin joins me to discuss upcoming release, Personal Growth.

2 (2)Willie, despite a rough start, has become immersed in the culture she should have been born into. As she grows in her own knowledge of her ancestral roots, she also grows in who she is as a person. All things are now within her reach, and all she must do is put forth a little effort. With all of this in mind, Willie has decided to dedicate herself towards her own ‘Personal Growth.’

 “Our heritage might be bloody, but that’s no reason not to be proud!”

-Spike

When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. At age four or five, I began writing poems and short stories, which, looking back, were horrendous. I began writing with the purpose of publication at sixteen, but was always too nervous to publish. When my mom passed away in 2009, I got serious and finally published, dedicating it (and all of my other writings) to my mom because of her unending support of me in everything I ever did.

 What is your writing process? Do you follow a regular routine?

The second I get an idea for a book, I write until the creative juices quit flowing, and take a break. I don’t really follow a regular routine, but when I am ‘actively’ working on a book, I wake up early in the morning to write before my daughter gets up, and I stay up late after she goes to bed in order to write more. My stories usually just come to me on their own, and I put them to paper.

How did you come up with the title of this book?

Well, I knew that this book was going to be about my MC, Willie, growing and expanding herself in all ways possible.  She was going to begin connecting all of the dots, so to speak, and I wanted the title to reflect that. I came up with a list of about ten titles that I really liked, which I usually don’t have to do. I got rid of a few of them, and then put it up to a poll with all of my closest friends and family. They narrowed it down to two titles for me, and then a long conversation with my sister-in-law settled things. ‘Personal Growth’ it was.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are two, actually. (1) If you apply yourself, you can overcome any circumstances you may have been born into. (2) I wanted to bring about a realization of what Native American’s still go through today, and what life on the reservations are really like.

 Are the events in your book or your characters based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes. The events are a little bit of my own story, a little bit of fiction, and a whole lot of my mothers, grandmothers, and great-grandmothers lives all mixed together. Willie has a lot of my own personality traits, and Spike is the embodiment of a guy I had a huge crush on way back when. Aunt Janie is my own mother to a Tee, and all of the other boys in the group (the cousins included) are taken after my friends, cousins, and brothers. I never mean to do it that way, but somehow all of my novels end up like this.

 If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, actually. I feel that ‘Personal Growth’ came out exactly the way I planned and imagined it. I couldn’t be happier.

 Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

YES! I have a HUGE problem with adding way too much detail in the rough draft. I also grow way too attached to my characters, so it’s so hard for me to have anything bad happen to them. I know that it has to be done for the sake of the story, but it bothers me either way.

What does your family think of your writing?

My family is very proud of me, and supports me all the way. Many of them haven’t read anything I’ve ever written,because most of the men in my family simply do not read. My sister, Brandi, and sister-in-law, Cory, amongst others are my biggest fans and supporters. I get ‘begged’ to finish the next book so they can devour it.

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

I think all writers do at some point in their lives. When I get writers block on one story, I start another one or write some poetry. It gets my creativity flowing again, and after a day or two, I’m usually able to go back to writing my original story.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I spend most of my free time with my friends and family- usually, my husband and daughter. We go hiking, watch movies together, bowl, fish, or play sports. Sometimes I like to take a  bike ride if I need some alone time, and we always tune into the NASCAR race or NFL game. I’m an avid supporter of Dale Jr and a HUGE Packers fan. Oh, and you can’t forget reading! I love to read as much as I love to write, and read at every given opportunity, especially books written by other independent authors.

Thanks for joining me, Chelsea, and good luck with your book.

Preorder Personal Growth:

http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Personal-Growth/book-mgXfvwS4fEeM0J8i9ue4FA/page1.html

Chelsea Falin is the 22 year old independent author of over ten titles. Her books can be found at all major online retailers, as well as a few independent bookstores around the United States. Chelsea has also been a professional freelance writer for over four years. In her personal life, Chelsea is a wife, and mother of one. She was born in a small west-central town in Florida called Dade City, but currently resides in South Jersey.

Connect with Chelsea on the web:

Www.CFalinHammond.wordpress.com

Www.Facebook.com/CFalinHammond

Www.Twitter.com/CFalinHammond

www.goodreads.com/CFalinHammond

One comment on “Interview with author Chelsea Falin

Leave a Reply

