2 Comments

Interview with author Jennifer Donohoe

Fly Away Cover FinalThis week, author Jennifer Donohoe stops by to talk about her new release, Fly Away:

Robin Sullivan is given a magical book where she can
experience a better life in a new world called Tearmann. She can
finally escape the terrible reality of life with an abusive, alcoholic
father, her mother’s schizophrenia, and her best friend’s Leukemia.
Robin must choose between deserting her real life or living in a world
promising a better one. Events come into play forcing Robin to make a
decision. Will she be able to save those she loves and still save
herself?

Welcome, Jennifer, and congratulations on your new release!

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I believe the art of storytelling inspired me to write. My memories of writing go back to the days I started holding a crayon. I have many writers in my family and I just think it was a natural thing for me to do the same.
What is your writing process? Do you follow a regular routine?
I would love to have a routine, but my life lends to know routines at all. I own horses and I have a job that requires odd hours at times. I write when the inspiration hits me and I definitely don’t try to push it. When I do, I find myself writing more junk than good material.
How did you come up with the title of this book?
My stories are written according to my titles. The name of a book always comes to me before the idea of the book even surfaces. I know this may be backwards but it’s how I’ve always done it. Fly Away just came to me one day and the story for this book came in small sprouts and was even suppose to be a thriller. However, it turned into a fantasy.
Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
I tend to always write messages in my books without even thinking about it. Fly Away’s message is that, “A person can’t run from their problems. They must stand and face them.” I think in our world today many people try to escape from the issues that plague them, but like the main character in my book finds out trouble follows you and will surface no matter where you go – even if it’s a fantasy world.
Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
I believe sometimes I write more than I should. I had people explain to me that sometimes my writing reminds them of watching a movie. Everything is handed to them. I’ve tried to back off this some as of late. I’m a very visual person so sometimes my writing follows suit.
What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The hardest thing for me is always the editing. I hate it with a passion. I was the kid in grammar class who didn’t believe the teacher when he said I would need to know this stuff when I was older. I always hate when I have to eat crow. It’s not very tasty.
Do you have any advice for other writers?
My advice would be to never let writing become a chore. When it does, it loses its innocence and shows in the writer’s voice.
What are the most important elements of good writing? According to you, what tools are must-haves for writers?
Hmmm…for me, I have to have a synonym finder and a emotion thesaurus. I tend to use the same motions and words for emotions quite often so the emotion thesaurus has helped me a great deal in order to come up with more unique ways of expressing feelings.
What do you like to do when you’re not writing?
I am a photographer so I’m always looking for that elusive shot. However, my photos also help me describe scenes in my stories. It helps utilizing all the senses in the writing. My other hobby is my horses. My daughter barrel races.
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I’m an open book and I appreciate any and all reviews or comments concerning my stories. I respond to it all. Just drop me a line. Fly Away sounds like the common story, but it’s best described as Dante’s Inferno meets The Neverending Story.

To purchase Fly Away:

Ebook Link:
http://www.amazon.com/Fly-Away-ebook/dp/B00CEGHLPA/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1366331860&sr=8-5&keywords=jennifer+donohoe

Paperback Link:
http://www.amazon.com/Fly-Away-Jennifer-Donohoe/dp/1480114146/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1366331823&sr=1-1&keywords=jennifer+donohoe

Connect with Jennifer on the web:

Website: http://jenniferdonohoe.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jenniferdonohoeauthor
Twitter: @donohoejennifer
Author of: The Legend of the Travelers: Willow’s Journey
Now available at Amazon: http://amzn.com/1475033664 (Paperback) http://amzn.to/TMEYn9 (Ebook)
Now available at Barnes-n-Nobles:  http://bit.ly/SNurs8

2 comments on “Interview with author Jennifer Donohoe

  1. As an early reader of Fly Away, I’m eager to read it again in it’s final version. I really liked the exploration and descriptions of the different rings the characters fought their way through. Great interview, ladies!

Leave a Reply

