3 Comments

Armed for Battle: Dandelion wars

Courtesy of kaylmc/WANA Commons

Courtesy of karylmc/WANA Commons

The Dandelion. It may look harmless enough. Some even call it pretty. But it’s multiplying in my yard.

I’m not really what you’d call a yard person. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love the idea idea of having a yard out of Better Homes and Gardens, with lush green grass that is free of weeds. I think that would be fantastic.

I just don’t have/want to take the time to get it that way. I’m a writer, not a landscape artist. When I do have free time, I’d rather spend it working on my books.

We had a long, cold winter in Iowa.  In fact, thirteen days ago when I left for a writer’s conference in Dallas, it was snowing.  The late frost didn’t kill the yard, though. I got home after the weekend trip to find that the grass grew about four inches.

This past weekend marked the first mowing of the season. I love a freshly mowed yard, and I was pleased with my efforts.

I even mowed up the few dandelions that had popped up.

Oops!

Dandelions multiply, and spreading their seed around with the mower just means more of them come back.

They’re annoying, prolific buggers.

In the event of an apocalypse, zombie or otherwise, I am convinced that some of the last things left on earth will be cockroaches, disposable diapers and dandelions.

So what to do with the dandelions? Arm myself with the Weed B Gone and see if I can defeat them? Or surrender to their superior powers and enjoy their cheerful, sunny yellowness?

3 comments on “Armed for Battle: Dandelion wars

  1. You know they are quite edible right? The greens can be eaten just like salad, the blooms can be made into jelly (I’ve done that) or wine, the roots can be eaten as well. They are packed full of vitamins, minerals and goodness.

Leave a Reply

