1 Comment

AHA Breakthrough Authors Blog Hop

Breakthrough_Authors_blog_hop

This week I am participating in the AHA Breakthrough Authors Blog Hop by sharing my writing and publishing journey. Have I truly broken out? I guess that depends on your definition. Then again, that’s true of a lot of things.

Two years ago, with one published novel under my belt, I attended my first writer’s conference—The amazing DFW Writers’ Conference—and the experience changed my life. One of the things discussed was what makes someone a ‘writer’ or an ‘author’? Speakers at the conference asked attendees “Who here is an aspiring writer/author?” Invariably, many people raised their hands. And were duly chastised. “No. You’re not an aspiring writer. You’re a writer. Own it!”
Since then, I’ve never made the mistake of calling myself ‘aspiring.’ I’m a writer, and I own it. I’m proud to be a writer. But am I an author? The dictionary defines an author as one who writes a novel, poem, essay, etc. That’s pretty easy, then. I’m an author. I think many people who toil in the task of writing are reluctant to own the status of write, author, or breakthrough author without some tangible benchmark to show for it.

What’s that benchmark? Having an agent? Not anymore, because there are other paths to publication. Is it being published? According to the definition of author, you can be an author without being published. What’s breakthrough, then? Having multiple books? Financial success? Being able to make a living as a writer? You see where this can go.

I recently published my fourth novel and am hard at work on my fifth. After that, I already have plans for number six and beyond. While I don’t completely earn my living as a writer yet, writing is far more than a hobby. It’s something I do every day. Even if I don’t write any new words in a single say, I am always at least thinking about writing in some way. Sometimes I wish my characters would leave me alone so I can get a decent night’s sleep, but of course I really don’t because I love what I do. I love being a writer.

I describe my books as real-life women’s fiction because they tend to be a little edgier than some books and I write about my fair share of controversial issues, including addiction and gay rights. I’m a sucker for a happy ending, though, and always try to have an element of romance in my books—with a real-life aspect of course.

My first book, After Ten, is a story of four one-time friends who honor a promise to meet again at their ten year class reunion, even though some of them don’t really want to. Although I didn’t necessarily plan on writing a series, my subsequent books have featured characters introduced in the firs book. My latest release, Finding Forever, continues Jordan’s story as she finally gets her chance at forever.

Full blurbs for each book are posted under the My Books tab. Thanks for visiting my website. I hope you’ll take a look around. Everyone who comments on this post between November 25-29 will be entered into a drawing to win a free eBook of one of my books. Please include in your comment which book you would like.

Also, please click the link below to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for the AHA Breakthrough Authors grand prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And be sure to visit the other blogs participating the blog hop this week by clicking on the button below:
Breakthrough_Authors_blog_hop

One comment on “AHA Breakthrough Authors Blog Hop

  1. Michele – You’re a success to me because I’m pining to read more of your work as soon as I get through my current queue.

Leave a Reply

